New and Interesting Terminology I’ve Learned

I’ve created this page so that I can start to track the terminology that I have learned and found to be interesting.  Comments are welcome.

Constructivists: “Knowledge is essentially subjective, constructed from our perceptions and mutually agreed on conventions….we continue to assimilate new information that leads to the reconstruction of our understanding” ( Bates & Sangra, 2011, pg. 44). Climate Change and Intelligent Design are two such theories.

Teaching “management of information” such as finding, analyzing, or organizing and applying information appropriately (Bates & Sangra, 2011, pg. 46).

Epistemology: “The philosophical analysis of the nature of knowledge, and in particular the basis, beliefs, or sources that enable us to consider something to be true” (Bates & Sangra, 2011, pg. 44). Episteme from the Greek meaning knowledge or understanding. Epistemology then means the study of knowledge.

The Objectivist and Constructivist teaching methods can each be seen as a different “epistemological dimension” (Akyol, Ice, Garrison, & Mitchell, 2010, p.67).

Experiential Mode:  A particular mode of learning such as when a student sits in a class and listens to a teacher, or when a student uses the World Wide Web to learn. An experiential mode is an instance of a Learning Environment (Appelman, 2005).

Learning Environment:  Learning environments are said to influence the instructional design of a course because they are comprised of multiple experiential modes, for example, discussion boards, 3D virtual realities, the World Wide Web, and classroom instruction (Appelman, 2005). Learning environments not only influence the instructional design of the course based on the various experiential modes utilized; but also address the specific epistemological goals the course strives to achieve (Appelman, 2005).

Objectivism: “Facts, principles, concepts and theories remain true” whether you believe them or not (Bates & Sangra, 2011, pg. 44).

Human Capital: “The human capital reflects, on the one hand, the physical and intellectual aptitudes characterising the labour and creation capacity of man, and on the other hand, the expenditure made for the improvement and acquisition of these skills” (Minica, 2011, p. 308). In other words, human capital can be seen as an investment.

Human Capital Theory (HCT): The belief that an individual’s knowledge and capacity to learn is as valuable as other types of capital resources, such as technology (Nafukho, Hairston, & Brooks, 2004).

Rates of Returns to Education Investment (RORE): The analysis of the profitability of education. Human capital then becomes an investment that must be considered along with all other investments made to better a person, company, or country, for example.

References

Akyol, Z., Ice, P., Garrison, R., & Mitchell, R. (2010). The relationship between course socio-epistemological orientations and student perceptions of community of inquiry. Internet And Higher Education, 13(1-2), 66-68.

Appelman, R. (2005). Designing experiential modes: A key focus for immersive learning environments. Techtrends: Linking Research & Practice To Improve Learning, 49(3), 64-74. Retrieved from http://link.springer.com/journal/11528

Bates, A.W. & Sangra, A. (2011). Managing technology in higher education: Strategies for transforming teaching and learning. San Francisco, CA: Jossey-Bass A Wiley Imprint.

Hülsmann, T. (2011). Distance education: From access to accumulation, The Fourteenth Cambridge International Conference on Open: Distance and e-Learning Internationalisation and Social Justice: the role of Open, Distance and E-learning. Cambridge, UK.

Minica, M. (2011). Theories regarding human capital. Annals Of Eftimie Murgu University Resita, Fascicle II, Economic Studies, 308-315. Retrieved from http://www.anale-ing.uem.ro/

Nafukho, F., Hairston, N., & Brooks, K. (2004). Human capital theory: implications for human resource development. Human Resource Development International, 7(4), 545-551. doi:10.1080/1367886042000299843

Schultz, T. W. (1961). Investment in Human Capital. American Economic Review, 51, 1-17. Retrieved from http://www.aeaweb.org/aer

Wolf, A. (2002). Elixir or snake oil? Can education really deliver growth? In A. Wolf (Ed.), Does education matter? Myths about education and economic growth (pp. 13- 55). London : Penguin books.

 

 

This entry was posted in OMDE 606, Terminology. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to New and Interesting Terminology I’ve Learned

  1. Lisa says:

    Gail, are these terms that were new to you from our readings? Or are they ideas that you wished to highlight? I think I’m unclear as to your context.

    • gailwingate says:

      Hi Lisa, thank you for your comment. These are terms from our readings that I found interesting and want to highlight. I will modify my post to explain why I posted what I did. That’s really all it was. I found this part of the discussion very interesting and just happened to be sitting at my computer when I read it. I’m sure there will be more to and I’ll make sure to be more clear about the context of my comments. Regards, Gail

      • Lisa says:

        Gail, I am with you on the vocabulary in this discipline. For me, it’s like learning a new language. I’ve always been a fan of keeping a vocabulary list, even if the text didn’t have a glossary.

    • gailwingate says:

      Hi Lisa, I think I need to clarify that I’ve had to make a new blog specifically for OMDE 603 since we are not allowed to use the blog that we created in prior classes. If you wish to make any future comments please go to http://gwomde603.wordpress.com. Thank you!

      • Gail, could you put it in our original chart for the blog location? That’s where I go to check on yours…. my ‘faves’ toolbar is getting really crowded.

        Lisa

        “If you are allergic to a thing, it is best not to put that thing in your mouth, particularly if the thing is cats.” – Lemony Snicket

        “A mother’s job is to protect her children from the world, and the father’s job is to protect the world from the mother.” C.S. Lewis

        “I know God will not give me anything I can’t handle. I just wish that He didn’t trust me so much.” – Mother Teresa

        We must, indeed, all hang together or, most assuredly, we shall all hang separately. – Benjamin Franklin

        Watch your thoughts; they become words. Watch your words; they become actions. Watch your actions; they become habit. Watch your habits; they become character. Watch your character; it becomes your destiny. – Lao Tse

      • gailwingate says:

        Hi Lisa, I did do that once I discovered that we could not use our existing blogs.
        Thanks! -Gail

  2. cindye1 says:

    Lisa and Gail, I STILL have the handwritten list of words that were “foreign” to me when I started my doctoral degree program! Things like hegemony and other terms that seem quite esoteric. Therefore I understand what Gail is doing, but Lisa I’m glad you asked for clarification.
    Cindy

Leave a comment